Richmond Amateur Radio Club

Radio School Class Registration Tuesday September 5, 7 to 8pm

Radio school icon

Fall 2017 Classes



Tuesday, September 5, 2017 7pm to 8pm. If you cannot make registration in person send an e-mail note to to discuss options.

You can fill out the Registration form in advance by clicking RARC Radio School Registration Form Fall 2017. It is a “fillable” PDF that you can fill out with Adobe(c) Reader or equivalent and then print and bring to registration. It saves time at registration. If you want a receipt for your payment fill out RARC Radio School Registration receipt 2017-3-web

License classes

Tuesday nights 7 to 9pm 09/12/2017 to 11/14/2017

  • Technician (first license)
  • General (second license)
  • Extra (highest license)

Optional classes

Thursday nights 7 to 9pm 09/14/2017 to 11/16/2017

  • Morse Code

One-day seminars

  • Remote-control station intro 9am 9/23/2017 at the church
  • D-Star Setup & Operations 9am 9/30/2017 at the church
  • NEC Antenna Modeling, the instructor will contact all the signed-up students to figure out the Saturday or evening when the most students can attend.

Class information

See Class descriptions

RARC Radio Run is done

As reported by Jim Bates, K8OI, June Radio Run Instigator, these 13 hams made at least one contact a day in June:
  • Pat Wilson, W4PW
  • Jerry Williams, KJ4IT
  • Joe Palsa, K3WRY
  • Dave Meier, N4MW
  • Cissy Meier, N4ZRW
  • Bruce MacAlister, W4BRU
  • Armand Hamel, WA1UQO
  • Dave Hallman, KM4GBW
  • Buddy Hall. KM4JCP
  • George Golding. W3PPY
  • Michael Calkins, KA2CUF
  • Jim Bates, K8OI
  • Mike Arthur, W4MHA

Remote Hams presentation of 12 May 2017

As soon as some Internet firewall issues are sorted out, the RARC remotely controllable station will be available for club members to use from their computers (Windows only) or Android phones or tablets.

Click here to see or download the PDF on the RARC station and the RemoteHams software.


DMR radios available for Special Olympics

The June 9-10 Virginia Special Olympics is using DMR digital HTs this year. Don’t have one? Not to worry. The leadership got a stash of them. Special Olympics is always fun and rewarding. If you’ve not used a digital ham radio, you get an added bonus of learning how.

Sign-up for the 2017 Special Olympics Summer Games

Tis’ that time of year! We’re taking Sign Ups for the 2017 Summer Games. Which, by the way is just around the corner! Please share with your friends and other Amateurs across the state! Were happy to also put folks up in a hotel if they are coming in from out of town! (Richmond has some premier shopping between the Short Pump Center and the Stoney Point Centers, so, bring your wives and they can shop while you play radio!)

Mark your calendars for June 9 & 10 This is a Friday and Saturday event and we will need operators both days as well as during the opening event and the dance! If you can operate both days, all day, or just a few hours, let us know and we will find you a spot! This is the largest Amateur Radio Event that Richmond sees and we support over 3,500 people that weekend, with staff, family and athletes on the UR grounds!

We are looking to use DMR this year for our communications, so don’t fret if you don’t have a radio! We now have a cache of DMR Radios and we have more than enough for those that don’t have a digital radio and would like to try it out! We think you’ll enjoy the new mode as much as many of us has with the many repeaters going up across the state. If you curious what the coverage area is, you can learn more at and
Sign Up Today!
Looking forward to seeing everyone soon!
Thanks & 73, Matthew Kimball, K4MTK